top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Anglo-Italian

A voice from the stands: River Plate

by Ruairi Criscuolo


In the build up to the final weekend of the Primera Division in Argentina, archenemies Boca Juniors and River Plate are only one point apart and it's all to play for. I spoke with Antonella, a life-long fan of Los Milionarios.


How does somebody come to support one team over another when the two biggest clubs in your country are in your city?


When I was little I was a Boca fan. I had to be, since my father is a Xeineze and it was the tradition. My mother didn't care as long as I was happy, but as I grew up I started to notice that she cared more about River than I first thought. Later I realised that I also enjoyed watching them more, so from then I was only about River Plate. Besides my family and my boyfriend, this team is my greatest love, and it's different because you truly know this one is for life.


When did you attend your first game?


When I was growing up it was very dangerous to go to the stadium, so understandably my father wouldn't take me. I was 14 when I went to my first River game. From that point it's been the stadium every weekend, if I have to swap shifts at work or miss a friend's birthdays then so be it, I'm sure they understand.


How has the season been for River?


All in all it's been a good season, we have been competitive in all three competitions this year [Primera Division, Copa Libertadores and Copa Argentina]. We are still favourites for the domestic title, we won the Copa Argentina and were unlucky to lose to Flamengo in the dying seconds of the Libertadores Final.


We have tended to drop points to lesser teams, though, and we've mostly done so at home. We could have been champions already but we'll have to wait till the final match. However, in the last few years under Gallardo we have been a lot better on the international stage, and after seasons of the Copa slipping through our fingers, we eventually won it twice.


What has been your highlight of the season?


Beating Boca 2-0 at La Bombonera for sure was the best moment. Ever since we beat them in Madrid in the final they have been dead! But I think this weekend will be a highlight, also.


And, sorry to bring it up, but what has been the lowest point for River this year?


That has to be losing the final in the dying minutes against Flamengo. We were in control for 88 minutes, then bang, it's gone... That broke my heart.


Who should people watching River for the first time keep an eye on?


The best thing about this team is that there are no real star players, they all play for each other and understand the system well. Rojas has stood out this year, but maybe the real star of this team is Gallardo: he helps every player realise their full potential.


Who is the player that makes you nervous at times?


Personally I'm not a huge fan of Paulo Diaz. He is still adapting to the system and doesn't always understand where he needs to be on the pitch, but he is strong and has great co-operation with his teammates at times.


So, finally, how are you feeling going into this final weekend?


Everyone is incredibly excited in the city, the chance to win the league and stop Boca Juniors from doing so is amazing! If we can concentrate and make sure we don't drop stupid points again, then I will be celebrating come Sunday!

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page